Tuesday, January 16, 2018

S.T.A.G.S. by M.A. Bennett

S.T.A.G.S.
Release Date: January 30th, 2018
Publisher: Penguin Teen
Genre: Young Adult
Format: NetGalley
Source: From Publisher
Reason: For Review
Find the Author: Twitter
Buy the Book: AmazonCA | Amazon

Seventeen-year-old Greer, a scholarship girl at a prestigious private school, St Aidan the Great School (known as STAGS), soon realizes that the school is full of snobs and spoilt rich brats, many of whom come from aristocratic families who have attended the institute throughout the centuries. She's immediately ignored by her classmates. All the teachers are referred to as Friars (even the female ones), but the real driving force behind the school is a group of prefects known as the Medievals, whose leader, Henry de Warlencourt, Greer finds both strangely intriguing as well as attractive. The Medievals are all good-looking, clever and everyone wants to be among their circle of friends. Greer is therefore surprised when she receives an invitation from Henry to spend a long weekend with him and his friends at his family house in the Lake District, especially when she learns that two other "outsiders" have also been invited: Shafeen and Chanel. As the weekend unfolds, Greer comes to the chilling realization that she and two other "losers" were invited only because they were chosen to become prey in a mad game of manhunt.

MORAL OF THE STORY:
IF YOU RECEIVE AN INVITE TO GO HUNTIN', SHOOTIN' AND FISHIN', DECLINE!


S.T.A.G.S. was such a fun and thrilling reading experience. A refreshing storyline and a superb character cast made this book a wildly good time!

Greer is a seventeen-year-old girl that isn't quite fitting in at St. Aidan the Great School(STAGS). Filled with pretentious snobs and spoiled rich kids but the Medievals are the real rulers of STAGS. A group teenagers with perfectly coiffed hair and bedazzling beauty. In this group is Henry de Warlencourt, the leader of the pack. It is at Henry's estate where the Huntin' Shootin' and Fishin' party is hosted every year. Greer and 2 other "outsiders" are invited to this extravagant weekend and the games quickly begin! 

Bennett crafted a witty and gripping tale that left me both jaw-dropped and amazed. Her writing style had so much depth and crafted such wonderful and unique characters. I also have to point out the epic movie references. As a movie buff myself, I loved every shoutout to all the great flicks and now I feel I need to sit down for an awesome movie night in honour of this book. 

I know this may sound like a totally savage thing to say but I would love to see this book hit the silver screen. I think it would make a phenomenal Netflix series! I could totally see Lucky Blue Smith and Amandla Stenberg starring in this!
Henry de Warlencourt                                     Greer

Though this novel is considered a Young Adult, I think any audience who's looking for a rip-roaring good time would enjoy this book!


"Well, Jeffrey," I said, trying to style it out, "Shit just got real."


Monday, January 8, 2018

A Map of the Dark by Karen Ellis

A Map of the Dark (The Searchers #1)
Release Date: January 2nd, 2018
Publisher: Mulholland Books | Little, Brown and Company
Genre: Mystery & Thriller
Pages: 304 Pages
Series: The Searches #1
Format: Arc
Source: From Publisher
Reason: For Review
Buy the Book: Amazon CA | Amazon

A girl, missing
A woman, searchingA killer, planning...A thrilling new FBI series for fans of Tess Gerritsen and Karin Slaughter. FBI Agent Elsa Myers finds missing people.She knows how it feels to be lost...Though her father lies dying in a hospital north of New York City, Elsa cannot refuse a call for help. A teenage girl has gone missing from Forest Hills, Queens, and during the critical first hours of the case, a series of false leads hides the fact that she did not go willingly.With each passing hour, as the hunt for Ruby deepens into a search for a man who may have been killing for years, the case starts to get underneath Elsa's skin. Everything she has buried - her fraught relationship with her sister and niece, her self-destructive past, her mother's death - threatens to resurface, with devastating consequences.In order to save the missing girl, she may have to lose herself...and return to the darkness she's been hiding from for years.
MORAL OF THE STORY:
NEVER LEAVE THE HOUSE

A Map of the Dark is everything I love about thrillers! Though this book is about the heart-racing attempt to find a missing girl, there is a haunting sub-plot/backstory that was unexpected and heartbreaking. 

If you were a fan of the AMC/Netflix series The Killing than I am almost certain that you will love this novel. I found many traits in Elsa that reminded me of Agent Linden from The Killing. Elsa is passionate and lives and breathes her cases. Even though she is fighting her own demons and caring for her dying father, she cannot resist the urge to help when a teenage girl vanishes into thin air. I loved Elsa's character, her will to solve the case vibrates off of the pages. She has strength but there are many moments of vulnerability. The author did a wonderful job at crafting Elsa. Though she seems she may have it all together, the dark shadow that looms over her quickly makes its appearance. 

The author, Karen Ellis, did a superb job at the pacing of this story. She doesn't just dish it all out a once, it is delivered slowly and delicately, but it also doesn't drone on with unnecessary dialogue and filler. Every detail and moment plays an intricate part of the entire story.

I enjoyed every single minute of A Map of the Dark. It's a fast-paced, nail-biting reading experience that will have you hooked from page one. 

"And then, suddenly, she isn't ignoring you--she's gone"

Tuesday, January 2, 2018

Top 20 YA Most Anticipated Books of 2018


TOP 20 MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF 2018

There are plenty of books I am dying to get my eyes on this year! However, to save me time writing a very long winded list, I have narrowed it down to a Top 20...Don't ask how I did it. I have no idea how it happened. I think I just blindly chose 20. There were no favesies!

Links lead to Goodreads for your convenience ;)


January 20th, 2018
January 2nd, 2018
January 16th, 2018
April 24, 2018

July 31st, 2018
May 22nd, 2018
March 6th, 2018
March 6th, 2018

May 15th, 2018
March 6th, 2018
March 20th, 2018
April 3rd, 2018

August 4th, 2018
March 20th, 2018
March 6th, 2018

February 6th, 2018
April 24th, 2018
March 6th, 2018
May 8th, 2018


What books are on your 2018 Reader Bucket List?




 
Designed by Beautifully Chaotic