Saturday, March 11, 2017

One Moment by Kristina McBride

One Moment
Release date: January 17th, 2017
Publisher: Sky Pony Press
Genre: Young Adult
Pages: 272 Pages
Format: ARC
Source: From Publisher
Reason: For Review
Find the Author: Website
Buy the Book: Sky Pony Press

This was supposed to be the best summer of Maggie’s life. Now it’s the one she’d do anything to forget.
Maggie Reynolds remembers hanging out at the gorge with her closest friends after a blowout party the night before. She remembers climbing the trail hand in hand with her perfect boyfriend, Joey. She remembers that last kiss, soft, lingering, and meant to reassure her. So why can't she remember what happened in the moment before they were supposed to dive? Why was she left cowering at the top of the cliff, while Joey floated in the water below—dead?
As Maggie's memories return in snatches, nothing seems to make sense. Why was Joey acting so strangely at the party? Where did he go after taking her home? And if Joey was keeping these secrets, what else was he hiding?
McBride delivers a novel of secrets that packs an emotional punch, perfect for fans of Sara Zarr and Gayle Forman.

“What if it's as simple as one moment? One tiny thing, like that kiss on the rocks? What if I'd kissed him a little longer? Would he be alive right now? Or what if I'd stayed with him Friday night, what if I'd been with him… wherever he was?” 

One Moment addresses one of our worst fears, the fear that we find out the one we love, aren't really who they say they are. What's worse? You find out the truth after it's too late, and it's up to only you to find all the answers and piece them together.

One Moment is the first book by Kristina McBride that I've had the privilege of reading, but I can tell you that it won't be my last. I absolutely fell in love not only with her delicate writing style, but with the beautiful character cast that she crafted. McBride delivered One Moment in such a way that you simply can't stop reading. She keeps you hanging on to the very edge of your seat until you turn the last page. And once you close the book for it's last time, you mind is left spinning, reeling over the heartbreaking tale you just experience.

One Moment is a character driven novel. It's this circle of friends that drive the story. Each character was a vital component to the book's entire package. I saw a lot of myself in Maggie. She is an average teenager that wears her heart on her sleeve. She not only lives and breathes for her boyfriend, Joey, she also lives for her friends.

We learn before cracking the book open that something mysteriously goes wrong during Joey's cliff jump that leaves him dead. The rest of the story surrounds this tragic incident and the unfolding of deep, dark secrets that test.

I loved every moment I spent reading One Moment. It takes you on a wild ride of mystery, romance and heart break. It is everything you could ask for in a book!

Share with the world:

9 comments:

  1. I loved this book too!! I loved that it was about dealing with someone's flaws after they died. I mean, she was never going to be able to confront Joey about what he did and that was tough, but I liked how complicated it was. People tend to want to forget the bad stuff after a person dies, but in this book, it really wasn't possible to do completely because it was left so unfinished. Anyway, great review and I'm glad you were feeling it!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Cùng bạn bè chơi game bài online cùng tại baimoc.com
    game bai
    phom không gioi han
    danh bai tien len
    sân chơi game bài số 1 VN

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thank for your post
    Visit my Website: " entertainment and Relax "tin giai tri" hot"

    ReplyDelete

  4. Thank for your post
    Visit my Website: " football & Livescore livescore hot"

    ReplyDelete

I read every single comment! So keep them coming!

Please do not leave any personal information on comments such as e-mail adddress, phone number, or mailing address.

 
Designed by Beautifully Chaotic