Bookworms will rule the world...After we finish one more chapter!

Thursday, September 6, 2012

Two or Three Things I forgot to Tell You by Joyce Carol Oates

Two or Three Things I Forgot to Tell You
Young Adult: 288 Pages
Publisher: Harper Collins
Published: August 21st, 2012
Series: None
Challenge: None
Source: From publisher for review
Buy the Book: Amazon CA | Amazon
Browse Inside: Two or Three Things I Forgot to Tell You

Joyce Carol Oates masterfully captures the unique experience of being a teenage girl in this provocative and poignant new novel in the vein of Wintergirls and Thirteen Reasons Why.

It wasn't like she had not warned us.

It wasn't like she had not prepared us.

We'd known that something was wrong those last several months.

But then, Tink hasn't actually vanished. Tink is gone, and yet—she is here somewhere, even if we can't see her.

Tink? Are you—here?

I have never read a Joyce Carol Oates novel before, but I have heard many great things about her writing. When I heard she was returning to the Young Adult scene, that piqued my interest. Once I learned about Two or Three Things I forgot to Tell You, and that it was along the same lines of Wintergirls and Thirteen Reasons Why(Which I both loved!) I was excited to give it a try.

The book started off a little slow for me. There was a lot of character development in the beginning and not so much storyline. I was approaching about 50 pages in, and still not much was happening. I was starting to get disappointed and was wondering if I was even going to finish the novel.

Slowly, but surely the story began to unfold, and boy, was I glad I kept on reading! The book is a dark and heavy read. If your looking for something light and fluffy, then I wouldn't suggest this one. The storyline, as it develops becomes quite intense. You can't help but be overcome with emotion as it plays out.

The character development certainly didn't lack in this novel. In fact, I think the main aspect of this novel was character based. When thinking back now to the first 50-100 pages of Character development, I can understand why the author chose to construct the novel that way. If it had been done differently, I don't think I would have felt the same way towards the characters.

The writing style was simple, yet the words came to life off the pages. I can see why Oates is a New York times bestseller. Her writing was very lyrical.

If your looking for an intense, powerful read, then I would strongly suggest Two or Three Things I Forget to Tell You. It packs a lot of punch but flows beautifully. I can see this one sitting on the Literature shelf in 20 years!

1 comments:

  1. Oris began making sports watches only as recently as the nineteen seventies. Their first rolex replica was the Oris Chromoris. Oris still manufacture the Chronoris today, the most recent model being the Chronoris 2005. The rolex replica uk is a simple design made from stainless steel with a black and orange saddle-leather strap; the strap is supposed to emphasize the rolex replica, however I feel they are better sports watches on the market today. A better rolex replica uk offered by Oris is the TT1 collection. These watches come with mechanical automatic movement with simultaneous indication of 2 individual time zones. You also get a date display at the hublot replica uk as well as a black dial with replica watches sale, a curved scratchproof sapphire glass, with water resistance up to 100 meters.

    ReplyDelete

I read every single comment! So keep them coming!

Please do not leave any personal information on comments such as e-mail adddress, phone number, or mailing address.

 

The Crazy Bookworm Template by Ipietoon Cute Blog Design and Bukit Gambang