Monday, August 30, 2010

Just Desserts by Hallie Durand

Illustrated By: Christine Davenier Reading level: Ages 9-12 Hardcover: 208 pages Publisher: Atheneum Published: July 6, 2010 ISBN: 978-1416963875 About The Book: DESSERT VS. ANNOYING SIBLINGS WHO'S GOING TO WIN? Dessert and her lunch-table buddies have been exposed to a highly contagious disease—The Annoying Sibling Disease. And while it seems like just yesterday that Dessert reigned supreme over Charlie and the Beasties (aka her brothers) now they are ruining her life. If she doesn't come up with a plan to stop their unruly behavior, it will be the end of civilization as she knows it. Taking inspiration from her classroom study of General George Washington and the winter at Valley Forge, Dessert comes up with a plan to "Let Freedom Ring." But will she really be able to stop the Annoying Siblings? Or has Dessert bitten off more than she can chew?(From Simon and Schuster)

My Thoughts: Fans of Ramona and Beezus will love "Just Desserts". I laughed out loud with this book, it made me reflect on my childhood, I have one older brother, I was his annoying sibling and he was mine. This is a sweet, funny and entertaining story with a great lesson, siblings can be annoying but like the saying goes "You can't live with them and you can't live without them". The Illustrations were a great touch, although they were simple they added a lot of character to the book. I can see families trying dessert first after reading this story to their kids and the recipes in this book were a tasty bonus. I can't wait to read what's next for Dessert and what other shenanigans she stumbles into. This is great book that all kids should read and the ones with "annoying siblings" will see that they are not alone. A great read with a great valuable lesson.

Share with the world:

2 comments:

  1. Sounds great!! I have a big family with 5 brothers and 3 sisters. The annoy me all the time and I think that's what siblings for..haha! to annoy us. =)

    ReplyDelete
  2. This looks like something my nieces & nephews might like! Thanks for the review - cute blog too. Thanks for particpating in the challenge!

    ReplyDelete

I read every single comment! So keep them coming!

Please do not leave any personal information on comments such as e-mail adddress, phone number, or mailing address.

 
Designed by Beautifully Chaotic